Mark Buehrle and the Article That Never Was

Again, I am going to have to preface this blog by saying I am an Eagles fan. But something a lot of people don’t know is that I am also a Mark Buehrle fan, too. This week, it’s going to seem like I’m Michael Vick’s PR department. Yes, I have two of his jerseys, but one was given as a surprise Christmas present. I make no apologies for cheering for him as a player AND a person.

And I do like Mark Buehrle. I think he’s been one of the most consistent pitchers of the past 10 years. Who could ever forget his perfect game with DeWayne Wise’s amazing catch or his opening day play that earned him a Gold Glove in 2010? But he showed us a little bit of his character this past week that caused me to think very differently of him.

But I have a problem. The original article that I have a problem with was taken down. All that’s left are articles like this from Sporting News. MLB.com, I’ll get to you in a minute.

Mark Buehrle, I lost a lot of respect for you. There are a lot of things I still respect you for. I respect you for your defense, pitching and your off-the-field activities. I think Sox for Strays is a wonderful charitable organization, and I encourage anybody who reads this to donate to it. But I lost some respect for you as a person.

I’ve hated a lot of players in different sports during my time: Brett Favre, George Teague, Terrell Owens, Michael Irvin, Deion Sanders, Wade Boggs, Carlton Fisk, LeBron James, Kirk Gibson, Joe Carter, Jose Canseco. But I am not one to wish harm or hurt on a player. I always joke about getting behind the city of Philadelphia when they cheered when Michael Irvin was injured. But absence made the heart grow fonder, and I even listened to his local radio show on ESPN radio. It is really low to wish “bad” on them, especially when they have worked on turning around their life.

I thought about ripping the writer a new one for bringing up the subject of Vick, but he was topical, and the more I think about it, the more it makes sense. I am letting that one go for now.

The other problem I have with this article is with http://www.mlb.com. Now I have nothing but love for my site. I spent many a long hours with that site. I met a representative once at a Rangers Winter Carnival who was great and followed up with me afterwards. (BTW, did you know that “Ruff” used to be on their black list because it was deemed coarse or offensive? I’m sure my grandmother would have appreciated that.)

But what I don’t understand is why they took the story down. Mark Buehrle was honest. He shared some real, genuine emotions. It was out there; you can’t go into the past and pretend it never happened. So people got offended. So people got hurt. You’re going to do that. Taking down that part of the article is like trying to go back and replace a mistake. If you’re going to put an article up, put an article up. And where is the person who proofread this story and said “Hm, you know, this story might be offensive here, so we might not want to publish it.” Either post your story or don’t.

This entry was posted in athletics, baseball, Eagles, Editorial, Football, MLB, NFL, Philadelphia, sports, Uncategorized, White Sox. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

