A Tale of Two Fighters

UFC 132 is in the books. While the UFC has recently provided lackluster, disappointing pay-per-view cards, this one delivered. It was unpredictable. (Really. Check out what I wrote.) 3 of the 5 fights were finishes. There were some spectacular KO’s and Tito Ortiz pulled out a great submission. I really felt that my night was not wasted (and it’s felt that way before).

I will not defend bad judging. But as you see, there’s no such thing as bad publicity. Bad judging gets us talking about it. There was lots of buzz about the PPV last night. For every word about the Tito’s submission, Condit’s knee or Leben’s ownage of Silva, there were people talking about how horrible the judging was. (And please, don’t think you’re smarter than anyone else and say the judging was just fine. Unless you are a licensed judge, don’t lecture me on judging. Sorry, pet peeve from last night.) Nobody ever stopped watching baseball because of a bad safe call (’85 World Series anyone?), basketball because Joey Crawford gave a dumb technical foul or football because Ed Hochuli called a bad holding call. Human error is part of sports. Aside from Chael Sonnen and Michael Bisping and a few others, there are few villains in Mixed Martial Arts. Judges give us a common enemy and give us something to talk about. Oh, yes, the judging needs help, but nobody who loves MMA is going to stop watching because of a few judges’ decisions.

Two fighters were believed to get screwed from the judging: Matt Wiman and Urijah Faber. Most people felt that Wiman should have gained the decision on Denis Siver. I actually had one round each before the 3rd. Not that I would stake my life on it, but I would have given one to both just so the final round meant something. And Siver had that final round thanks to that submission attempt. The moment the final decision was announced, Matt Wiman stormed out of the ring like a little b**** who didn’t get his way. He took his proverbial ball and went home. There were sponsors who paid to have their name splattered all over Wiman.

Sportsmanship is one of the most important things in MMA and the UFC. Careers have been killed because of bad sportsmanship. Wiman showed that he had no class whatsoever. Ryan Bader found himself owned by Tito Ortiz. Bader still went over and congratulated Tito Ortiz. Bader is a great fighter. He’ll get back up this morning and begin to train for his next fight. Wiman had 15 minutes to finish the fight and didn’t. MMA’s biggest mantra is “Never leave it in the hands of the judges.” Though we like judges to think the way we do, they don’t. If I didn’t get my way at work and I stormed off like that, I would have set my career back to before I arrived there. Most jobs would have fired him if he behaved like that on national television. If anything, Dana White needs to take him into a back room like he did with Brock Lesnar after UFC 100.

There was one fighter who did it right. Urijah Faber lost a very questionable decision. Officially, I had Faber by 1, but I would not have been upset if Cruz had won by one. Instead, one judge had Cruz 50-45. Faber said “I thought I landed the heavier punches. I had him rocked a couple of times, but congratulations to Dominick; He won. It wasn’t enough of an output on my side, and I didn’t finish him. I felt like I won the fight, but congratulations to Dominick.” (http://www.sherdog.com/news/news/Cruz-Stays-at-the-Top-33648)

Guess which one of these has my respect and guess which one looks like a little b****.

To follow me on Twitter, click here. For Facebook, click here.

This entry was posted in Editorial, fighting, MMA, UFC, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

