Joshimania Night 1

Here is the first night of Joshimania according to my stream-of-consciousness.

We had a quick promo from Archibald Peck teasing a break-up with Veronica.

1. Archibald Peck & Los Ice Creams vs. Kaori Yoneyama, Hanako Nakamori & Tsubasa Kuragaki

Now you’ll have to forgive me for a lot of this. I really don’t know the women of Japan that well. I was torn between being disgusted at the misogyny and laughing at the comedy spots. The three guys acted like they were just going to play with the girls and the girls surprised them in their work. Los Ice Creams were very good heels. I liked the PG-13 comedy bit where they did arm-breakers on the wrong wrestler’s arm. The women won when Kuragaki did a double torture rack. Holy s***. This event must be seen if only for that.

2. Sawako Shimono vs. Gami

I know the name Gami but have never heard of Shimono. Gami walked the ropes from turnbuckle to turnbuckle and then proceeded to walk backwards on the top rope. Holy s***. They told a nice teacher vs. student story. Gami just looks like every move she does kills you. She’s a power wrestler in that she’s unrelenting. If you’re going to be a slow power wrestler, please be unrelenting. Gami won a very nice battle.

3. Tim Donst vs. Green Ant

We had a Tim Donst promo. He is pretty fun to listen to on the mic. He started fun-loving and cocky and slowly crescendoed his intensity. Tim Donst is so good in the ring. Dare I say the name Dean Malenko? And I gotta admit I love the Colony. They wrestled a nice match. Donst got a really good submission hold. Isn’t it great that 11 minutes is a short match?

4. Mayumi Ozaki & Mio Shirai vs. Ayako Hamada & Cherry

Shirai is gorgeous. I loved Ozaki’s in-ring style. She made Ric Flair look squeaky clean. Flair used to call himself the dirtiest player in the game. He never saw Ozaki. Shirai was also really good in the ring. She has a certain fluidity to her movement. I really liked Cherry. She did “face in peril” really well. This match was so well-placed together and so entertaining. The faces won a very good match.

5. Toshie Uematsu vs. Manami Toyota

Of course I know the name Manami Toyota. What a legend. Uematsu reminds me a lot of MsChif (who is in my female Fav 5). I completely forgot about the WCW Women’s Cruiserweight Championship that Toyota held. This was a very nice match. I gotta give Mike Quackenbush credit. His commentary was very spot-on here. Both ladies brought everything here and were treated to some pink streamers after this match. What great drama. Toyota won a nice victory.

6. Team F.I.S.T. (Johnny Gargano & Chuck Taylor) vs. The Colony (Fire Ant & Soldier Ant)

These 4 worked really well together. I’m becoming more of a Gargano mark all the time. Gargano reminds me a lot of Matt Cross but a little more flamboyant. Gargano and Taylor can be really good faces or heels. FIST stole the first fall. Then The Colony walked away with the second. Fire Ant really got my attention on this one. Gargano has such a poetry to his work. Taylor put him Fire Ant in the hold and he tapped out for the 3rd fall. Along with the women’s tag match, my match of the night so far.

7. Aja Kong vs. Sara Del Rey

Wow. THE Aja Kong vs. Sara Del Rey, probably #1 on my indy bucket list. There was the great story of the person who idolized her hero finally getting to face her. It was also a good big woman-little woman match. Then there was a ref bump. And then Sara reversed it for a victory. Then we got to have an Aja Kong rampage.

All in all… A great night of wrestling. There were so many dream matches, and the regular Chikara crew really brought it. Very much worth the $15 from http://www.smartmarkvideo.com.

To follow me on Twitter, click here. For Facebook, click here.

This entry was posted in Chikara, Indy Wrestling, Pro Wrestling, Uncategorized, Wrestling. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

