Pro Wrestling Guerilla – 1.21 Gigawatts

1. Brandon Bonham vs. Nemesis

We start off with a very hot crowd. PWG’s crowd reminds me a lot of the old ECW crowd in that they made the show. They had some “Lucha Libre” chants and shot some “Luke” heckles at Bonham. Old Cranky White Man thinks they should be using guard rails, but the no guard rails does give it that intimate feeling. They didn’t know Bonham’s name so they chanted “New Guy.” Nemesis had some nice chops. I like Bonham’s ability to sell and his Swanton was nice. He took away the win. Good match.

2. Candice LeRae vs. LuFisto

I know both these names, but have never seen either wrestle before. One of the fans yelled   out “You’re both hot!” I agree. For such a pretty blond, LuFisto is very hard-hitting and unrelenting. I was really impressed with her. She looked like she killed Candice. Then Candice began to get her offense in and we saw more of that brutality. I blinked and I missed the finish. Really good match. Think my Fav 5 for women may get reshuffled.

3. Claudio Castagnoli vs. Chris Hero

I was wondering how in the blue hell you have these two fight 3rd on the card. This match seemed to come out of nowhere, much like an old ECW show. (And I mean the ECW comparisons only in the most positive light, not implying that they are a knockoff. California already tried ripping off ECW and it didn’t work too well.) Castagnoli is such a good heel. I see him being rather successful if the WWE books him right. These two had a lot of emotion in this match. Human Tornado came out and stopped everything.

4. PWG Tag Titles The Dynasty (Scott Lost & Joey Ryan w/Jade Chung) vs. El Generico & Kevin Steen

Of course I know the name Joey Ryan, but I think this might be my first time to ever see him. He is such a good mic worker and a great heel. It is interesting to watch Kevin Steen back before he was the monster he is today. Kevin Steen reminds me a lot of Mick Foley. You have the big guy with the unusual shape. It’s an interesting discussion point. Generico and Steen won and were well-received by crowd.

5. DD4 Qualifier Elimination Match Hook Bomberry & TJ Perkins vs. Ronin & Scorpio Sky vs. Los Luchas (Phoenix Star & Zokre) vs. The Young Bucks (Matt & Nick Jackson)

Most of these guys were brand new to me except for the Young Bucks and Scorpio (the latter of whom I only know of by name). Scorpio has such a great look. TJ Perkins is very over as a heel. I really liked the action here. The Bucks are so good as double-teamers. The Luchas won. I was very impressed by all the work I saw. Because it was so fast-paced, it was difficult to transcribe it. I will simply say, “Very good action.”

6. Intergender Street Fight Human Tornado & LuFisto vs. Chris Hero & Candice LeRae

You’ll have to forgive my inner Old Cranky White Man. He doesn’t like violence against women. But the stuff between the women was great. When you watch Alicia Fox every week on tv, sometimes you forget that women can actually work. That is exactly what I thought watching this match. I remember a hardcore match between Trish and Victoria once. These two women in this match were great. I knew I’d heard the name LuFisto before and now I know why I remembered her. She was the CZW IronMan champ for a spell. This was such a long match. They ripped out LuFisto’s hair extensions. It wasn’t entirely violence against women, but it seemed to rise above it. Hero won in what was a very long match.

After the match, there was a huge angle with the guys duct-taping Hero to the ropes and continuing to attack LeRae. I was disgusted and really angry, which I’m sure was the point.

All in all… I think there were some good things here. The street fight was very long, even though I hated the inter-gender aspect of it. It was brutal, intense & shocking, which I’m pretty sure was the point. A good show worth the $15 or whatever I paid for it.

To follow me on Twitter, click here. For Facebook, click here.

This entry was posted in Indy Wrestling, Pro Wrestling, PWG, Uncategorized, Wrestling. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

