My Coming Out Story

I realize most of you will freak out when you read this title. Relax. I’m straight. I’m happily married. I love women. But I have the need to come out about something that has been weighing on my heart. So there’s no easy way of saying this so here goes. I am a Christian in favor of our country (USA) legalizing gay marriage.

I am not condoning homosexuality. I am not saying that I approve of gay marriage morally or in a spiritual context. What I agree with is the right for a same-sex couple to be married legally and to be afforded the same rights as an opposite-sex marriage.

Here is the problem. Christians, I am talking to you. We started this. We turned marriage into a mockery first. The divorce rate in our country is 55% and it’s even higher in the Church. A Christian marriage is supposed to be a mirror of Christ and the Church. Why should we dictate to the world what marriage is when we can’t get it straight? And how can we as Christians even justify trying to legislate our values on those who aren’t even Christians about principles we don’t even follow?

What if the situation were reversed? What if gays were the majority and Christians were the minority? How would you feel? We haven’t always been so lucky to be in the majority. What if they made a law that Christians couldn’t get married? How would we feel? There are countries where people are dying to experience even a fraction of the freedoms we as Americans experience. Denying people freedoms is not what America is about. Freedom of religion does not just mean you can worship whomever you want. Freedom of religion also means that others have the freedom not to have your rights infringed upon by other religions. So if I haven’t gotten serious enough, how about this? What if tomorrow, a rule was made to follow Muslim Sharia law? That is exactly how the gay community feels about us denying them their freedoms.

I feel that we as Christians should follow the life of Jesus. Who did Jesus spend his time condemning? I’m pretty sure he wasn’t chastising the gay community. The people he went after were the rich, the religious leaders of their day who acted religious but knew no humility or brokenness. Why are we spending all our time condemning the gay community? It seems like we’re trying to out-god God. God is fine. He doesn’t need our help. He can change lives all by Himself without legislation.

Christians, this is my challenge to you. Take all the time that you would spend legislating against the gay community and use that time in prayer for the gay community. Let’s stop being Pharisees and start being Jesus. Let’s give people their freedoms and then let God be God.

This entry was posted in Christian, Christianity, Editorial, Gay Interest, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My Coming Out Story

  1. Pamela says:

    Amen Justin!! I totally agree with you. While I don’t agree with homosexuality, I have always left the judgement up to God. It’s not my place, or anyone’s place to judge them. Although I have never understood the lifestyle…I’ve had gay friends since middle school, and I love them just as much as my straight friends. Very well said! Love you big brother. 🙂

  2. Gee Hall says:

    I see where your argument stems from, and pretty much agree. Obviously I’m in a different country, so that makes for a little bit of a disparity towards my take on US laws. And albeit, I am a non-practicing religious person. Not an atheist, per say, just not catering to any particular organized religion.

    I think that faith and freedom need to co-exist. The only way that can truly happen is to keep religious tenets out of law making. This does not mean that one’s religion cannot play a part in their personal opinion on right and wrong, rather that the law itself needs to be very careful deeming what is allowed and not. This is the only way rights and freedoms of things such as expression, religion, and of course, marriage, can serve the citizens in a sound manner.

    As the US is much like Canada in being an immigrant country, the legal definition needs to stay very far away from Christianity and other organized religions in regards to how the government differs from this status versus common-law and single. The catch here, and one that has been challenged in both our countries, is does this open a door to other controversial types of marriage such as bigamy.

    I hate this debate, but have absolutely no problems with same sex marriages. Personally, your points about the divorce rates is more of an issue for me to argue that marriage itself is kind of a broken idea. I’m of the belief that if two people have sincere deep emotional feelings for one another and make an honest agreement to stay faithful to each other, it’s basically the same thing without the legality, financial expenditures, and whatnot. The real victims of the divorce rates tend to be the children who are caught up in the legal struggles and emotional trauma that come with most divorces. And to be honest with you, I’d rather do away with the entire institution being recognized by government completely. If people want to do their ceremony for their own satisfaction, hey, that’s cool. If it didn’t come with special treatment, taxation, social services, and so forth, we’d have one massive headache of problems less to deal with. I’m sure some people will disagree with me on this, and I’m ALSO cool with that. Freedom of speech, baby! Good post Justin!

  3. Aunt Meg says:

    Well said, nephew 😉

Leave a Reply

